KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The Detroit Tiger's Miguel Cabrera has become baseball's first Triple Crown winner in 45 years.

Cabrera received a standing ovation from the crowd Wednesday night for topping the American League with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBIs.

Past Triple Crown winners include Mickey Mantle, Lou Gehrig and Ted Williams.