Kenyan, Ethiopian win New York City Marathon

NEW YORK - (AP) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya and Firehiwot Dado of Ethiopia are this year's winners of the New York City Marathon.

Mutai won the event in a record course time. Mutai finished in an unofficial time of 2 hours, 5 minutes, 6seconds Sunday, crushing the previous mark of 2:07:43 set byTesfaye Jifar of Ethiopia a decade earlier.

On the women's side, Dado trailed London Marathon champ Mary Keitany by nearly 2½minutes at the 15-mile mark but passed her with about a mile leftfor her first major marathon victory. The 27-year-old Dado won inan unofficial time of 2 hours, 23, minutes 15 seconds - almost aminute better than her previous personal best.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

Senior Samuel Langshteyn received a cochlear implant when 1 Best of Brooklyn: Hearing-impaired student performs in play
VIDEO: News conference on annual Denim Day 2 VIDEO: News conference on annual Denim Day
Funeral today for FDNY firefighter William Tolley from 3 Funeral set for FDNY firefighter killed in the line of duty
News 12 Brooklyn hit the streets to ask 4 Word on the Street: GPS devices
News 12 viewers took to Facebook to discuss 5 The Buzz: 8-year-old wanders out of charter school, found walking along train tracks

advertisement | advertise on News 12


Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.