BROOKLYN - A new law that raises the number of required driver's education hours for teen drivers will go into effect Monday.
Residents who apply for a New York State driver's license must now complete 50 hours of driver's ed, instead of 20 hours. The new law also allows only one passenger outside of a teen driver's family to ride in a car, instead of two.
Lawmakers hope the new requirement and restriction will keep teens safer. Last year, more than 200 teenagers died in car accidents in New York State.