State lawmakers approve no-fault divorce

ALBANY - (AP) - New Yorkers would be able to fileunilaterally for no-fault divorce under a measure that receivedfinal legislative approval Thursday.

Under current law, New York judges can grant divorce only ongrounds of cruelty, adultery, abandonment or getting sent to prisonfor at least three years. They also can grant a divorce one yearafter a couple file a separation agreement when both sides consent.

The new measure requires one spouse to swear under oath that therelationship has broken down irretrievably for at least six months.Property division, alimony, child custody and support would have tobe resolved first.

Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, whose house passed it 113-19,says he believes Gov. David Paterson will sign it.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

1 Neighborhood Brief for April 30
A 3-year-old girl died after a car accident 2 3-year-old killed in crash on Bruckner Boulevard
More than 2,000 people took part in the 3 Thousands attend NYPD Cares 5K for kids with disabilities
More than 200 Brooklyn residents received a goody 4 Expecting moms attend massive baby shower in E. Flatbush
The victim, a man in his 20s, was 5 Man shot in head during Williamsburg drive-by shooting

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Features

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE