What you need to know about marijuana and 4/20 in New York

Gov. Hochul said that state police and local law enforcement will be doing extra patrols Thursday.

News 12 Staff

and Noelle Lilley

Apr 20, 2023, 9:34 AM

Updated 404 days ago

Share:

Marijuana has been legal in New York since March 2021 but this year, Gov. Kathy Hochul is looking to crack down on New Yorkers who get behind the wheel after using on April 20.
Gov. Hochul said that state police and local law enforcement will be doing extra patrols Thursday. More than 400 officers have received special training to tell when a driver is under the influence. They hope to get that number to 550 by the end of the year.
Most people are aware of the dangers of drunk driving, but driving while high from marijuana can also be risky.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention says marijuana can affect the important skills people need to drive safely, such as your coordination or ability to make a split-second decision on the road.
While data shows that drunk driving is more dangerous, the number of car crashes involving marijuana has been on the rise. It’s also not just unsafe, it’s illegal. Drivers under the influence of marijuana could lose your license, have to pay hefty fines, and could even go to jail.
Anyone over 21 years old can have at least three ounces of cannabis and up to 24 grams of concentrated cannabis for personal use in New York.
Cannabis is not allowed inside motor vehicles or prohibited areas, like parks and outdoor dining areas.
Smokers are welcome to share marijuana with their friends as long as they are over 21 and smoking in a private home or private business like a hookah or cigar bar.
Some tips to avoid driving while impaired by drugs, are to plan ahead before getting high, to have a designated driver who will be staying sober, using a rideshare app, and if you're home, order food delivery instead of driving.
Businesses looking to make profit from cannabis must have an adult use license to legally sell cannabis in New York. They could lose their license or face fines and penalties if they sell cannabis to anyone underage.


More from News 12