Mandatory 14-day quarantine announced for travelers to tri-state from high-infection areas

Starting Wednesday night, anyone traveling from states with high COVID-19 spread into New York, New Jersey or Connecticut are required to quarantine for two weeks. 
“We now have to make sure the rates continue to drop," Cuomo said. “We also have to make sure the virus doesn’t come on a plane again.”
Cuomo announced what was called a “travel advisory” at a briefing jointly via video feeds with New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont, both fellow Democrats.
This applies to any person that comes from a state where the positive test is either higher than 10 per 100,000 over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a positivity rate higher than 10%. 
Gov. Cuomo announced Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Washington are on the list of affected states. 
Gov. Cuomo added that at one point New York had the highest number of cases nationwide and that this measure will ensure that the numbers continue to drop.
The Associated Press contributed to this report.